A Lesson from one of God’s Creatures

 

image

I was rushed, dividing my time between ongoing projects, overdue reports, and last minute preparations, when I stopped to open my windows and let in a breath of fresh air. And to my surprise, there in my back lawn lay a deer. The cranking of my kitchen window might well have scared her away, but she didn’t even rise in alarm to assume that alert stance that deer often take when they sense danger. She just lay there, looking as relaxed as if this had been an old favorite resting spot within the protection of the forest. She was at peace.

And my first thought was,”Be still, and know that I am God.”

Here was one of God’s creatures, coming to pay me a visit and remind me of the quiet beauty of God’s creation. And although we immediately caught one another’s eye, the doe did not stir, and I went about my business quietly, as not to disturb her.       And a sense of peace came upon me in the midst of my busyness.

I looked out from time to time, and there she was, a photo image framed by my big picture window, still lying there peacefully. And even when a dropped utensil near the opened kitchen window startled her, she quickly resumed her peaceful composure. And after a time, she got up and began to graze, still quite unhurried and unconcerned. She ate her way up to the woods. Then she was gone.

And I reflected again on the scripture verse from Psalm 46:        “Be still, and know that I am God.”

And once more I was reminded that even when I feel the most rushed or stressed, rattled or confused, when all around me is havoc — I can find that peace of God and inner calm.

I looked again, and there she was, back to graze. I looked once more, and she had settled down again, to lie quietly in another spot just beyond the house, where she seemed to be enjoying the glorious day God had given us.

“Be still, and know that I am God.” And she, by the grace of God, had given me these words.

 
From Psalm 46
God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. “Be still, and know that I am God.” The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.

And in Matthew 11:28, Jesus says:
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Leave a Reply

